Skip to content


Move your career forward.

In an ever-changing industry, career success depends on maintaining strong fundamentals, developing new skills and keeping a pulse on current trends. BOMA educational offerings are designed to help you do just that.

BOMA is a proud industry partner of the Building Owners and Managers Institute (BOMI) Established by BOMA in 1970 to fill a perceived gap in property management education, BOMI International has set educational standards in the commercial property industry through specialized courses and the industry-standard designations.

BOMI is dedicated to improving the skills of professionals with property, facilities, and systems responsibilities. BOMI is known for its industry-standard designations: RPA (Real Property Administrator), FMA (Facilities Management Administrator), SMT (Systems Maintenance Technician), SMA (Systems Maintenance Administrator), which have graduated thousands of career professionals over the years.

CMCP: Certified Manager of Commercial Properties

A Higher Standard: The Commercial Real Estate Certification You’ve Been Waiting For

With just one year of experience and 30 hours of industry education, you can qualify for the CMCP, commercial real estate’s first certification for early-industry career professionals. Discover the CMCP.

The BOMA Foundation has created a new scholarship to fund individuals pursuing the CMCP certification. Up to eight scholarships will be awarded per quarter. Applicants may use the scholarship to cover either the CMCP application/exam fee or the CMCP Exam Prep Course. Learn more and apply.

RPA: Real Property Administrator

Why the RPA®? The RPA® Designation program positions property managers for success by providing insight into and knowledge of operating a commercial building. You’ll gain a full understanding of the diverse aspects of property management involved in analyzing a building in its entirety. The RPA® program will teach you to maximize a building’s net income while minimizing risks, thereby enhancing your standing in the industry and positioning you for long-term success. Learn more.

FMA: Facilities Management Administrator

Why the FMA®? The FMA® Designation program positions you as a key strategic contributor within your organization by helping you to create a productive work environment and handle tenant issues such as daily operations, maintenance, comfort, and safety. Learn more.

SMA: Systems Management Administrator

Why the SMA®? The SMA® Designation program provides the tools to improve operations, create energy efficiencies, reduce costs, and enhance the value of an asset. An SMA® designation holder is responsible for the operations of the building, as well as management of the team of technicians assigned to the building. Learn more.

SMT: Systems Management Technician

Why the SMT®? The SMT® Designation program provides today’s technicians with the skills that will help them stand out as top performers—those who can raise a building’s efficiency while reducing operating costs. The program covers every major building operating system, from HVAC and plumbing to electrical and overall control systems. Learn more.